Explore Cayman For a better experience on Explore Cayman, Update your browser.

Visitor Immigration & Visa Requirements

Visiting the Cayman Islands in 2022 - How to Travel to Cayman.

Article updated: March 8th 2022

Prior to booking your flight, people wishing to travel to the Cayman Islands must first apply for pre-travel approval via the TravelCayman portal. If you are fully vaccinated (with a securely-verifiable vaccination), you must apply for a Travel Declaration. You must submit your declaration to travel within 3 months of your travel date (and not before), and if approved, you will be issued a Travel Declaration Certificate with an 'eligibility date' i.e. date of expiration, often within 3 months of applying. You must take this Declaration Certificate with you when travelling. You can apply for a Travel Declaration if you:

  • have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19 at least two weeks prior to travelling/date of arrival in the Cayman Islands
  • have taken a full course of a WHO approved vaccine
  • have a digital copy of your securely verifiable vaccination, with a unique QR code or a vaccination record (such as those issued by MyHSA)
  • satisfy all other rules and regulations
  • An unvaccinated accompanying child who is under 18, however, only children aged 0-11 can now take the vaccination status of their accompanying parent/guardian. Children aged 5-11 can follow the same pre-departure testing regime as their accompanying adult.

If you are not fully vaccinated and/or subject to quarantine requirements, you must apply for a Travel Request with TravelCayman. This means that those who are travelling with at least one individual who meets the below points must have their travel request approved:

  • does not have a securely verifiable vaccination
  • is not vaccinated
  • is subject to quarantine requirements (as per the regulations)

Once registered, you can then book your flight directly with the approved airline carriers. For more information about flights entering and leaving Cayman, see this page. For information on applying for a travel declaration or request, see the TravelCayman portal.

Further pre-departure details

  • All travellers to the Cayman Islands must provide a negative PCR test or Certified Lateral Flow Test no earlier than 24 hours before departure.
  • When travelling to the Sister Islands if you are unvaccinated and over the age of 5 then you must take a Certified Lateral Flow Test no earlier than 24 hours before departure. Fully vaccinated travellers do not need to take a PCR or LFT.
  • Inbound travellers who have completed their COVID-19 vaccination course with one of the approved vaccinations (AstraZeneca, Janssen, Moderna or Pfizer-BioNTech) at least two weeks prior to travelling and are over the age of 12 must provide evidence of their vaccination status before boarding a flight to Cayman.
  • Inbound travellers who have not been vaccincated must declare their preferred quarantine option when applying for pre-travel approval. Once arriving, you will be required to quarantine for 7 days. You will be released from isolation on the basis of consecutive negative lateral flow tests on days 6 and 7. You are no longer required to take a PCR exit test. Children aged 0-4 will not be tested prior to or following arrival.

The TravelCayman team can be contacted directly by emailing TravelCayman@gov.ky, or by calling their customer representative line: 1 (345) 743 8463. Phone lines are open Monday-Friday 8.30am-5pm.

Immigration and Visas

Nationals of United States of America, Canada, the United Kingdom and most countries within the British Commonwealth do not require visas to enter the Cayman Islands. Various other countries are also exempted but for example, citizens of Jamaica, Colombia, Saudi Arabia and Belarus currently require visas before being admitted into the Islands. Where visas are required they must be sought and obtained prior to travel. For a full list of which countries do and do not require visas for entry into the Cayman Islands please visit www.immigration.gov.ky.

Visitors are permitted to stay for up to a total of six months. You will be required to show your return or ongoing ticket upon arrival in the Cayman Islands.

If you are arriving on a cruise ship, please check with your cruise ship company for rules and regulations. Cruise ships are resuming travel to the Cayman Islands from March 21st 2022.

More Information

People wishing to live and work in the Cayman Islands must secure a job and obtain a work permit prior to arriving in the islands. For much more information on Cayman Work Permits please see our Cayman Resident website. For lots of information on How to Find a Job in the Cayman Islands also see our Cayman Resident website which is researched and updated by the Acorn team daily. For information on Retiring in Cayman see here.